2022 NASCAR Cup Series Silly Season tracker

Driver movement is coming fast and furious over the course of the 2021 season, providing a preview of the 2022 landscape that so far includes an Xfinity Series powerhouse wading into the Cup Series full time, a team in its first season purchasing a longtime organization, a championship crew chief stepping down from atop the pit box and plenty more rumors swirling as the season charges on.

Our 2022 Silly Season Tracker is below, listing what we know for full-time Cup Series teams in 2022. We’ll update this page often, as teams finalize their plans for next season. Anything highlighted in red indicates news on that driver and ride for beyond 2021, and clicking on the red line will give you more information on the move and its impact.

Crew Chief
Phil Surgen
Trackhouse Racing Team
Chastain lands in the second car at Trackhouse. He had been at Chip Ganassi Racing, which sold its NASCAR operations to Trackhouse in June. Crew chief Phil Surgen will also make the move over and remain teamed with Chastain.
Jeremy Bullins
Team Penske
Team Penske has announced that Austin Cindric will make the jump to the Cup Series full-time to pilot the No. 2 car in 2022.
Justin Alexander
Richard Childress Racing
Rodney Childers
Stewart-Haas Racing
Cliff Daniels
Hendrick Motorsports
Kyle Larson signed a contract extension with Hendrick Motorsports that goes through the 2023 season and includes majority sponsorship from HendrickCars.com.
Matt McCall
RFK Racing
Roush announced that Brad Keselowski will come on board in 2022 in a driver-ownership role and will drive the No. 6, a seat held by Ryan Newman in 2021. Matt McCall will be the team's crew chief.
Ryan Sparks
Spire Motorsports
Randall Burdett
Richard Childress Racing
Alan Gustafson
Hendrick Motorsports
Mike Bugarewicz
Stewart-Haas Racing
Chris Gabehart
Joe Gibbs Racing
Jonathan Hassler
Team Penske
Todd Gordon, Blaney's crew chief, has announced he will retire from Team Penske at the end of the 2021 season. Jonathan Hassler, who has been the crew chief for the second half of the season on the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford team, will call the shots in '22.
Johnny Klausmeier
Stewart-Haas Racing
Kaulig Racing
Kaulig Racing has announced it will be running full time in the Cup Series in 2022, with Justin Haley piloting the entry.
Scott Graves
RFK Racing
Graves was the crew chief for the final five races of 2021 for the No. 17 team. He will be in charge of that team for 2022. Buescher and Graves teamed for the 2015 Xfinity Series title.
Ben Beshore
Joe Gibbs Racing
James Small
Joe Gibbs Racing
Adam Stevens
Joe Gibbs Racing
Brian Wilson
Wood Brothers Racing
Wood Brothers Racing has announced that Harrison Burton will be their full-time driver for the 2022 season in the No. 21 Ford Mustang. Brian Wilson moves over from Team Penske's Xfinity program to lead the team.
Paul Wolfe
Team Penske
Robert “Bootie” Barker
23XI Racing
Barker entered the new role in September as Wallace's crew chief and guided the organization to its first win at Talladega Superspeedway, doubling as Wallace's first Cup Series victory.
Rudy Fugle
Hendrick Motorsports
Drew Blickensderfer
Front Row Motorsports
Trent Owens
JTG Daugherty Racing
Team co-owner Brad Daugherty revealed that the organization plans to go back to fielding only one car in 2022.
Seth Barbour
Front Row Motorsports
Anthony Alfredo will not be returning to this ride after one season.
Mike Shiplett
Stewart-Haas Racing
Dave Elenz
Richard Petty Motorsports
Erik Jones announced he will return to the Richard Petty Motorsports No. 43 Chevrolet in 2022. Elenz will be the team's new crew chief coming over from JR Motorsports where he has was a two-time Xfinity Series champion crew chief.
Billy Scott
23XI Racing
Busch will be heading to the No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season as he will drive for the Michael Jordan-Denny Hamlin co-owned organization. Cup Series veteran Billy Scott, who spent the 2016-19 seasons with Stewart-Haas Racing, will be the crew chief. Busch and Scott got a win together in 2018.
Brian Pattie
JTG Daugherty Racing
Stenhouse confirmed at the end of September that he signed a one-year extension to return to the No. 47 in 2022. Team co-owner Brad Daugherty earlier revealed that the organization will be fielding only one car in 2022.
Greg Ives
Hendrick Motorsports
Alex Bowman signed a two-year contract extension with Hendrick Motorsports.
Frank Kerr
Live Fast Motorsports
Jerame Donley
GMS Racing
Dillon returns to the Cup Series as the first full-time driver for GMS Racing in the premier series. Former Ganassi engineer Donley will be atop the pit box -- a position he is new to.
Travis Mack
Trackhouse Racing Team
Daniel Suarez will remain at Trackhouse as it adds a second car to the team with the purchase of Chip Ganassi Racing.