Sean Gardner | Getty Images

DiBenedetto wins Fan Vote for 2021 All-Star Race at Texas

Matt DiBenedetto was announced Sunday night as the All-Star Race Fan Vote winner for the final spot in the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas Motor Speedway (8 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

DiBenedetto was the top vote-getter among drivers not already qualified for the main event. The fans’ choice put his No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford into the field as the 21st and final entry.

RELATED: History of Fan Vote winners | See every All-Star Race winner

This also marks DiBenedetto’s second appearance in the All-Star Race – both coming during his tenure with the storied Wood Brothers organization. He qualified for last year’s event by winning the All-Star Open.

The No. 21 team was in the news this week as the 29-year-old driver will have a new crew chief for the remainder of the season with Jonathan Hassler taking the reins from Greg Erwin. Hassler was a longtime race engineer with Team Penske, the organization that shares a technical alliance with the Wood Brothers.

Kasey Kahne is the only previous Fan Vote winner to go on to win the main event. He accomplished that feat in 2008.