Official Site Of NASCAR

Virtual Talladega up next for surging Byron, iRacing Pro Invitational Series standouts

A virtual trip to sweet home Alabama is on tap for the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series, with William Byron aiming to continue his hot streak at treacherous Talladega Superspeedway.

Byron has won the last two races on the invitational iRacing circuit, created with real-world racing on hold because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Hendrick Motorsports driver will bring his No. 24 Chevrolet to the virtual 2.66-mile high banks for Sunday’s GEICO 70 (1 p.m. ET, FOX, FS1, FOX Sports App).

“I mean, it’s going to be a tough race,” Byron said after last Sunday’s triumph at virtual Richmond Raceway. “I think virtually you’re going to see a lot of aggression and things of that nature.”

RELATED: Byron pads streak | Getting started with iRacing

In a twist this week, Byron will start at the rear of the field. New for Talladega is an inversion of 10 cars, and specifically the top three finishers from Richmond starting at the tail end of the field, with the winner — Byron — starting last.

The event is the fifth race in the series for current and former NASCAR Cup Series standouts. Byron is the only multiple race winner; Denny Hamlin and Timmy Hill have each won once.

Qualifying for Sunday’s race will consist of single-car runs of two laps apiece. The race will be 70 laps, with manual cautions, one reset and a maximum of three green-white-checkered finish attempts. A field of 40 cars is expected.

The weekend will also include a preliminary tilt with Saturday Night Thunder for drivers from other NASCAR series. That race is set to start at 8 p.m. ET, broadcast on and streamed live on NASCAR’s YouTube Channel.

Qualifying for Saturday Night Thunder will consist of two-lap, single-car runs to set the grid for the two heat races. Each heat race will be 10 laps long with 20 cars transferring to the feature event for a total of 40 cars in the feature. The feature will be 150 miles or 57 laps, with one reset, manual cautions and a maximum of three green-white-checkered finish attempts.

Here are the preliminary entry lists for both events, which are subject to change. Jeff Gordon announced that he plans to take part in Sunday’s race:

eNASCAR Pro Invitational Series at Talladega

# Name Team
1 Kurt Busch Ganassi
2 Brad Keselowski Penske
3 Austin Dillon RCR
4 Kevin Harvick SHR
6 Ross Chastain Roush
8 Dale Earnhardt Jr Invitation
9 Chase Elliott HMS
10 Aric Armirola SHR
11 Denny Hamlin JGR
12 Ryan Blaney Penske
13 Ty Dillon Germain
14 Clint Bowyer SHR
15 Brennan Poole Premium
17 Chris Buescher Roush
18 Kyle Busch JGR
19 Bobby Labonte Invitation
20 Erik Jones JGR
21 Matt DiBennedetto Wood Bros.
22 Joey Logano Penske
24 William Byron HMS
24 Jeff Gordon HMS
31 Tyler Reddick RCR
32 Corey LaJoie GoFas
34 Michael McDowell Front Row
37 Ryan Preece JTG
38 John Hunter Nemechek Front Row
41 Cole Custer SHR
47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG
48 Jimmie Johnson HMS
49 Chad Finchum MBM
51 Garrett Smithley Invitation
52 JJ Yeley Rick Ware
53 Joey Gase Rick Ware
66 Timmy Hill Invitation
77 Parker Kligerman Invitation
88 Alex Bowman HMS
89 Landon Cassill Invitation
95 Christopher Bell LFR
96 Daniel Suarez Gaunt Bros.

Saturday Night Thunder

Alex Labbe 90
Angela Ruch OO
Anthony Alfredo 33
Austin Cindric 22
Bayley Currey 74
Blake Koch 57
Brandon Brown 68
Brett Moffitt 23
Chase Briscoe 98
Chase Cabre 4
Christian Eckes 81
CJ Mclaughlin 39
Derek Kraus 19
Donny Lia O7
Drew Dollar O15
Gus Dean 56
Harrison Burton 20
Jeb Burton 8
Jeffrey Earnhardt 50
Jesse Iwuji 36
Joe Graf Jr. 80
Josh Berry 88
Josh Bilicki 99
Josh Williams 92
Justin Allgaier 7
Justin Haley 10
Kaz Grala 29
Kyle Weatherman 54
Landon Huffman 75
Logan Seavey 67
Matt Mills 5
Myatt Snider 93
Noah Gragson 9
Ruben Garcia 27
Ryan Ellis 78
Ryan Truex 40
Ryan Vargas 51
Scott Stenzel 63
Spencer Boyd 0 2
Stephen Leicht 25
Stewart Friesen 52
Thad Moffitt 46
Todd Gilliland 38
Ty Majeski 45
Ty Gibbs 18
Tyler Ankrum 26
Will Rodgers 55
Raphael Lessard
Tommy Joe Martin 44