Zack Novak poses with iRacing helmet
Photo Credit:

Wide World of Esports: Heat Pro League finale, iRacing Pro Series, and what’s the track?

Tonight: eNASCAR Heat Pro League Championship Race

A season’s worth of efforts will culminate in the crowning of a champion tonight when the world’s fastest gamers take to the virtual ISM Raceway for the winner-take-all eNASCAR Heat Pro League finale (7:30 p.m. ET,

Who’s in contention

The inaugural eNASCAR Heat Pro League Championship 4 consists of four finalist teams that bested the competition throughout a rigorous and competitive season.

• Team Penske Esports
Corey Rothgeb (PlayStation 4)
Brian Tedeschi (Xbox One)

• JR Motorsports
Jason Keffer (PlayStation 4)
Tyler Dohar (Xbox One)

• Stewart-Haas Gaming
SHG_HotRod_14p (PlayStation 4)
SHG Slick 14x (Xbox One)

• Leavine Family Gaming
Josh Harbin (PlayStation 4)
Nick Vroman (Xbox One)

How they got here

ISM Raceway — the real race track in Arizona — marked the beginning of the eNASCAR Heat Pro League, where a preseason draft was held for team driver selection back in March. Now, the virtual ISM Raceway determines which team earns the crown.

The 14 teams of the Heat Pro League started their season at Charlotte Motor Speedway in a live event in May. Throughout the summer months, drivers battled it out to make the playoffs — and then survived a three-race series of eliminations at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Kansas Speedway and Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Now, with just four teams remaining in contention, the winning team with the highest combined point total at the ISM Raceway finale will take home the title of inaugural eNASCAR Heat Pro League champion.

Race format

There are two races for two consoles: NASCAR Heat 4 for PlayStation 4 first, then Xbox One following.

• ISM Raceway (1-mile oval)
• 70 laps
• No stage breaks
• No competition cautions
• Custom setups
• 4x wear
• Full damage

On PlayStation 4, SHG Slick 14x of Stewart Haas Gaming will start pole position, while Team Penske Esports racer Pennzoil2 (Brian Tedeschi) rolls off first on Xbox One.

Each of the 14 teams — four of which remain in championship contention — fields two drivers, one for each console. Points are scored by combined team total following the end of both races.

All 28 players are racing live in Arena 43 at NASCAR Plaza in Charlotte, North Carolina. The race will stream live on (this fine website), NASCAR Heat’s Facebook page and at 704nascarheat on Twitch.

Oh, and stay for the prizes, too. NASCAR Heat is giving away Playseat chairs, a NASCAR Racing experience, NASCAR Heat 4 Gold Edition games and a $100 NASCAR store gift card.

Another Day at the Office

Newly crowned eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze iRacing Series champ Zack Novak visited iRacing headquarters as part of his victory lap. According to iRacing’s tweet, Zack also tried out some new content, so we fully expect Dale Earnhardt Jr. to ask him how North Wilkesboro is coming along.

Novak also stopped by Reddit for an AMA.

Sunoco’s eWorld vs. Real World Challenge

What happens when Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series star Bubba Wallace faces off against eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze iRacing Series drivers Malik Ray and Jimmy Mullis?

Read more

What’s that track?

What’s this graffiti-laden track? iRacing asked Twitter for wrong answers, and Twitter certainly delivered.

NASCAR Heat 4 October DLC Available

Do you like throwback paint schemes? Thought so. We do, too. NASCAR Heat 4’s October content pack is now available with a whole bunch of new additions, included with a season pass, or $12.99 for a one-time purchase.


iRacing Pro Series Begins

The final step in the ladder to the eNASCAR PEAK Antifreeze iRacing Series begins tonight in a seven-race series that will promote 20 drivers to the 2020 class of iRacing’s highest level of oval racing.

While the top 20 points finishers in the 2019 PEAK iRacing Series are guaranteed a seat in the 2020 field, the bottom 20 must compete against 20 up-and-coming drivers. The top half after the seven-race Pro Series gets promoted, and the bottom half — well, they don’t.

Four-time PEAK iRacing Series champ Ray Alfalla, who missed last year’s cutoff by just two points, will compete in the Pro Series for the first time in nine years.


iRacing Paint Scheme of the Week

Feeling spooky? Brantley Roden painted Kyle Busch’s M&M’s Halloween Toyota for iRacing.

eNASCAR paint scheme

Video of the Week

If you haven’t been keeping up with Rajah Caruth’s “Types of iRacers” series, you’re missing out.

Part 2:

Part 3: