Meet the National Motorsports Appeals Panel

See the members who participate in the appeal process

Play: NASCAR Fantasy Live

If a NASCAR member wishes to appeal a penalty notice, the National Motorsports Appeals Panel "provides Members with an impartial and meaningful opportunity to appeal." Members are also "entitled to a second and Final Appeal of the Appeal Panel’s decision to the Final Appeals Officer," per the NASCAR Rule Book.

Below is a list of the 33 members of the National Motorsports Appeals Panel, three of whom are selected to participate in an appeal. The 34th name is the Final Appeals Officer.

Johnny Benson: The 2008 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion (pictured) is one of 26 drivers to win races in all three of NASCAR’s national series in a career that lasted from 1993 to 2010.

Janet Guthrie: Pioneering female competitor who was the first woman to drive in both the Daytona 500 and Indianapolis 500. Made 33 starts in NASCAR’s top series, with a best finish of sixth at Bristol in 1977.

Bill Lester: The first African-American driver to compete in an XFINITY Series event, he drove in all three of NASCAR’s national divisions, making two Sprint Cup starts in 2006. The electrical engineering graduate from Cal-Berkeley became the first African-American to win a GRAND-AM event in 2011.

Shawna Robinson: The first female driver to win a pole in the XFINITY Series, she competed in all three of NASCAR’s national divisions across a 12-year span. Appeared in eight races at the premier level, with a best finish of 24th in the Daytona 500 in 2002.

Lake Speed: In 402 career starts in NASCAR’s premier series from 1980 to 1998, he had one win in 1988 at Darlington Raceway. The Jackson, Mississippi native also had six starts in the XFINITY Series.

Lyn St. James: The first woman to win Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year, with 16 starts in major American open-wheel circuits. Founder of the Women in the Winner’s Circle Foundation, which provides grants to female drivers to help advance their careers in motorsports.

Crew Chief
Buddy Parrott: Won 49 events in 18 seasons at NASCAR’s top level, 10 of them coming with Rusty Wallace in the 1993 campaign. Won the Daytona 500 with Richard Petty and Derrike Cope, and also oversaw race victories for Darrell Waltrip and Jeff Burton.

Car Owners
Jack Housby: Fielded cars in the 1970s and ’80s. Housby made 12 starts in the sport’s premier division, with a best finish of fifth with driver Pete Hamilton at the former North Carolina Motor Speedway in 1972. Is also former president of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

Steve Lewis: Former U.S. Auto Club car owner whose teams were a powerhouse, providing a springboard for future stars like Stan Fox, Tony Stewart and Kasey Kahne. J.J. Yeley, Mile Bliss, Jason Leffler and many others drove for a team that earned over 130 feature wins in a 29-year span.

Bud Moore: A NASCAR Hall of Fame member who won the 1962 and ’63 premier-series championships with Joe Weatherly, he claimed 63 races in a long career working out of Spartanburg, South Carolina. His drivers also included Bobby Allison, Ricky Rudd, and Dale Earnhardt.

Jimmy Smith: A pioneer owner in the Camping World Truck Series, drivers ran 420 races for him in the series with Ted Musgrave earning the championship in 2005, Smith’s final season as an owner. He also field cars in 162 Sprint Cup Series races with three top-five finishes, including runner-up results by Robby Gordon in 2001 and 2005.

Robert Yates: One of NASCAR’s top engine builders and a NASCAR Hall of Fame nominee, he moved into team ownership when he bought Harry Ranier’s team in 1988. He won 57 races over 21 years, including a trio of Daytona 500 crowns — one with Davey Allison, and two with Dale Jarrett, with whom he won the championship in 1999.

Track Operators
Mark Arute: General manager and chief operating officer of Stafford Motor Speedway, a half-mile oval in Stafford Springs, Connecticut.

Lee Baumgarten: Director of operations at Phoenix International Raceway, and former general manager of Tucson Raceway Park.

Barbara Cromarty: Co-owner of Riverhead Raceway, a quarter-mile track in Riverhead, New York.

Richard Gore: Owner of Old Dominion Raceway, a three-eighths mile oval near Manassas, Virginia.

Russell Hackett: Owner of Caraway Speedway, a half-mile track near Asheboro, North Carolina.

Bill Mullis: Operator of Langley Speedway, a .33-mile track located in Hampton, Virginia.

Dale Pinilis: Operator of Bowman Gray Stadium, a quarter-mile track Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and the longest continuously operating weekly track in NASCAR.

Cathy Rice: General manager of South Boston Speedway, a .4-mile track in South Boston, Virginia.

Kevin Whitaker: Owner of Greenville-Pickens Speedway, a half-mile track near Easley, South Carolina.

John White: Co-owner of Chemung Speedrome, a three-eighths mile track in Chemung, New York, best known as the springboard for Bodine brothers Geoffrey, Brett, and Todd.

Paul Brooks: Former NASCAR senior vice president, and president of NASCAR Media Group.

John Capels: Former president and chairman of the board of the United States Auto Club. Also won four major open-wheel races as a team manager, the last with Johnny Rutherford at Michigan in 1986.

Ken Clapp: Former race promoter and NASCAR executive who was key in opening the sport to the West Coast. Helped bring the premier series to the road course at Sonoma, California.

David Hall: Former president of Gaylord Communications Group, whose holdings included former NASCAR television partner The Nashville Network.

Hunter Nickell: Former president of SPEED Channel, now known as NASCAR television partner FOX Sports 1.

Don Panoz: Patriarch of the Panoz motorsports empire that includes a manufacturer of high-performance automobiles. Also creator of the American LeMans Series, which merged with GRAND-AM in 2014 to become the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship.

Jay Signore: Former president of the defunct International Race of Champions, which held events combining top drivers from different circuits from 1964 until its closing following the 2006 season.

Christiane Ayotte: Director of doping control at the Institut National de la Recherché Scientifique in Montreal, a lab accredited by the World Anti-Doping Agency.

Robert L. DuPont: First director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, and White House Drug Czar from 1973 to ’77 under presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford. Current principal at Bensinger DuPont and Associates, which administers drug testing management and employee assistance programs.

Laurel Farrell: Retired toxicologist who formerly worked for the Colorado Department of Health and the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. She also works with the National Laboratory Certification Program which certifies drug testing laboratories for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

John Horton: President and founder of LegitScript, which verifies online pharmacies for Google, Microsoft, USDA, etc. Former Associate Deputy Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy (White House Drug Czar’s Office).

Final Appeals Officer
Bryan Moss: President emeritus of Gulfstream Aerospace.


READ: Latest
 NASCAR news

PLAY: Sign up
 for Fantasy Live

WATCH: Latest
 NASCAR video

 RaceView today